image

Mirrors

Written by Tan Nguyen
Saturday 9th of April 2016

Reflections of an image,
Familiar yet unfamiliar,
I thought I’ve recognised,
Yet, a stranger,
Staring back at me.

Years spent looking upon the mirror,
Fixing my hair by the reflection,
Making myself presentable,
Before a night out in town,
Briefly, checking myself,
Making sure it’s an image,
I wanted to present to the world.

Youth appearance are faded,
Gone with the passing of time,
After those years of vanity,
Never truly looked upon the mirror,
Focusing only on the outside,
Ignoring what goes on the inside.

The reflection on my outside,
I can picture it with my eyes closed,
What lay beneath the surface,
Unexplored, like the bottom of the ocean,
Alien, foreigned to me,
Explored the world around me,
Yet, haven’t ventured where it matters,
The person within, I neglected,
Time has come, to focus the attention,
To really focus on myself.

Leave a Reply

